## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

12 - 5 - 6

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 72** 

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer
Ray Tenorio
Mike Cruz
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B. Calvo
B. J.F. Cruz
Mark Forbes
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the 44<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association as it assumes office for the 2005-2006 Academic year; and to thanking the 43<sup>rd</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association for its service, commitment and diligence during the 2004-2005 Academic School year.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the 2005-2006 Academic year rings in a new era of student stewards tasked with ensuring that there is a voice in all areas of student concern critical to the fulfillment of the mission of the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 44<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association (UOGSGA) include Sahara June Defensor, President; Jessica Pineda, Vice President; Nancy Mae Carlos, Secretary; Cheressa Marie Cruz, Treasurer; and Lynes Bayonito, Bernard Cruz, Joseph John Gamboa, Julian C. Janssen, Charles Lacy, Edison Manaloto, Jenny Regis, Gilbert Robles, Pamela Swei and Darlene Vigil as Senators; and

WHEREAS, as members of the 44<sup>th</sup> UOGSGA, they will carry forward the work of past Student Governments whilst forging new and innovative agendas to ensure that opportunities for self-expression remain, and the formation of new and improved educational programs continues; and

WHEREAS, the 44<sup>th</sup> UOGSGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to practice the principles of democracy, maintain a harmonious environment with all constituencies of the University, provide services and coordinate activities for UOG students and encourage cultural unity among members of the institution and the island-community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 43<sup>rd</sup> UOGSGA include Josephfa Castro, President; Katherine Roberto, Vice President; Jessica Pineda, Treasurer; Mary Jane Alegre, Secretary; and Lynes Bayonito, Bernard Cruz, Cheressa A. Cruz, Glen Leon Guerrero, George Lujan, Glenn Lujan, Edison Manaloto, Kathlina

1 Martin, Eugene Ramsey, Jenny Regis and Manny B. Villavicencio as Senators;

2 and

WHEREAS, through their work and experience with the UOGSGA and knowledge gained through the education attained here at UOG, the future of the island looks promising as the SGA members of today are destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate all the members of the 44<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association, and wish them great success during the 2005-2006 Academic year as they take on new endeavors; and be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, thank all the members of the 43<sup>rd</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, commitment and diligence during the 2004-2005 Academic year; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Sahara June Defensor, President, 44<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association; to Ms. Josephfa Castro, President, 43<sup>rd</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association; to Dr. Harold L. Allen, President, University of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 24TH DAY OF AUGUST 2005.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature